Spring Arbor University

Alumni Awards

The Spring Arbor University Alumni Association Awards are given to celebrate character traits, values and accomplishments that exemplify the discovery, development and realization of individual potential, as found in Christ.

These awards are not given simply to bring attention to the recipients, but in a larger sense, to emphasize the high ideals of Spring Arbor University, which these individuals personify. The purpose is to challenge each alumnus to greater effectiveness in life and service to Christ. To nominate someone for 2019 you may use our online alumni award nomination ballot, email the alumni office at rebekah.zraik@arbor.edu, or call 517.750.6673.


Alumnus of the Year Award

2018 Alumnus of the Year – Greg Bontrager ’83

Former COO of American Cancer Society
Learn more about Greg!

Awardee(s) are selected on the basis of the broadest aspects of Christian service to humanity and achievement in the recipient’s chosen vocation, community service, or service to Spring Arbor University, and whose life exemplifies Christian principles. Nominate an alumna/alumnus for our 2019 alumni awards.


Professional Excellence Award

2018 Professional Excellence Award Recipient – Heidi Campbell ’92

Associate Professor of Communication at Texas A&M University
Learn more about Heidi!

The purpose of the award to is recognize alumni who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and community, and achieved honor and distinction for Spring Arbor University. The recipient must have been established professionally for at least five years and must hold membership in at least one professional organization. The recipient’s accomplishments, achievements, or contributions must have been previously recognized by their profession. Nominate an alumna/alumnus for our 2019 alumni awards.


Faithful Servant Award

2018 Faithful Servant Award Recipients – Gary ’70 and Jann (Cox ’69) Allen

Retired from Free Methodist World Missions
Learn more about Gary and Jann!

The purpose of the Faithful Servant award is to recognize alumni of SAU for faithful service to church, family, community or others with the purpose of furthering God’s kingdom. The alumni also serves in ways that are frequently overlooked and they go above and beyond what is expected over an appreciable amount of time. The service is not in the capacity of their profession and without regard for reward (either financial or personal). Nominate an alumna/alumnus for our 2019 alumni awards.


LeRoy M. Lowell Award

2018 LeRoy M. Lowell Award Recipient – Karen Parsons ’78

Librarian at SAU White Library
Learn more about Karen!

The purpose of the LeRoy M. Lowell Award is to recognize excellence in employee service (past or present) characterized by consistency and outstanding contribution to the educational ministry of Spring Arbor University. The recipient need not be an alumnus of Spring Arbor University. Nominate an alumna/alumnus for our 2019 alumni awards.


Young Leader Award

2018 Young Leader Award Recipient – Shaun Page ’06

Owner-Operator at Chick-Fil-A
Learn more about Shaun!

The purpose of the Young Leader award is to recognize superior achievement of alumni whose lives exemplify Christian principles and who are outstanding leaders in their profession and community, and who demonstrate promise of further distinction. The recipient must be between 25 and 40 years of age. Nominate an alumna/alumnus for our 2019 alumni awards.

Concept in Action Award

2018 Concept in Action Award Recipient – Alec Cross ’18

Campus Life Director at Wyoming High School
Learn more about Alec!

The purpose of the Concept in Action Award is to recognize a graduating senior who most closely embodies the values and goals of the Spring Arbor University Concept. The recipient must demonstrate academic excellence, leadership qualities, exceptional commitment to service opportunities, and a life dedicated to Christian principles. Faculty, staff and administration of the University will recommend candidates for this award.


Share your congratulations with our award recipients below. Tell us who you are, and specify the recipient within the body of the note.

  • Name * Required