Skip to main content

Alumni Awards

The Spring Arbor University Alumni Association Awards are given to celebrate character traits, values and accomplishments that exemplify the discovery, development and realization of individual potential, as found in Christ.

These awards are not given simply to bring attention to the recipients, but in a larger sense, to emphasize the high ideals of Spring Arbor University, which these individuals personify. The purpose is to challenge each alumnus to greater effectiveness in life and service to Christ. To nominate someone for 2020 you may use our online alumni award nomination ballot, email the alumni office at, or call 517.750.6687.

Beth Habecker

Alumna of the Year Award

2019 Alumna of the Year – Beth Habecker ’87

Professor at Oregon Health & Science University

Awardee(s) are selected on the basis of the broadest aspects of Christian service to humanity and achievement in the recipient’s chosen vocation, community service, or service to Spring Arbor University, and whose life exemplifies Christian principles. Nominate an alumna/alumnus for our 2020 alumni awards.

Todd Tibbits

Professional Excellence Award

2019 Professional Excellence Award Recipient – Todd Tibbits ’91

President & CEO at YMCA of Greater Charlotte, NC

The purpose of the award is to recognize alumni who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and community, and achieved honor and distinction for Spring Arbor University. The recipient must have been established professionally for at least five years and must hold membership in at least one professional organization. The recipient’s accomplishments, achievements, or contributions must have been previously recognized by their profession. Nominate an alumna/alumnus for our 2020 alumni awards.

Gloria Johnson

Faithful Servant Award

2019 Faithful Servant Award Recipients – Gloria (Good ’74) Johnson

Pastoral Counselor and Ordained Elder

The purpose of the Faithful Servant award is to recognize alumni of SAU for faithful service to church, family, community or others with the purpose of furthering God’s kingdom. The alumni also serves in ways that are frequently overlooked and they go above and beyond what is expected over an appreciable amount of time. The service is not in the capacity of their profession and without regard for reward (either financial or personal). Nominate an alumna/alumnus for our 2020 alumni awards.

Candy Robinson

LeRoy M. Lowell Award

2019 LeRoy M. Lowell Award Recipient – Candy Robinson ’14

Major Advisor at SAU Southfield

The purpose of the LeRoy M. Lowell Award is to recognize excellence in employee service (past or present) characterized by consistency and outstanding contribution to the educational ministry of Spring Arbor University. The recipient need not be an alumnus of Spring Arbor University. Nominate an alumna/alumnus for our 2020 alumni awards.

Jordan Kennedy

Young Leader Award

2019 Young Leader Award Recipient – Jordan Kennedy ’12

Manager of Communications for the State of Michigan

The purpose of the Young Leader award is to recognize superior achievement of alumni whose lives exemplify Christian principles and who are outstanding leaders in their profession and community, and who demonstrate promise of further distinction. The recipient must be between 25 and 40 years of age. Nominate an alumna/alumnus for our 2020 alumni awards.

Erin Couch

Concept in Action Award

2019 Concept in Action Award Recipient – Erin Couch ’19

Client Advocate at Jackson Interfaith Shelter

The purpose of the Concept in Action Award is to recognize a graduating senior who most closely embodies the values and goals of the Spring Arbor University Concept. The recipient must demonstrate academic excellence, leadership qualities, exceptional commitment to service opportunities, and a life dedicated to Christian principles. Faculty, staff and administration of the University will recommend candidates for this award.

Share your congratulations with our award recipients below. Tell us who you are, and specify the recipient within the body of the note.